My name is Reed Bowers, and I am the son of Reed and Lynn Bowers. I attend Palacios High School and am involved in sports, clubs, and organizations. I am the Secretary of NHS, a member of WIT, Secretary of STUCO, a member of Scrubs Club, and a participant in Academic UIL. I also play basketball and tennis for the Palacios Sharks. After high school, I plan on going to Texas A&M University in College Station and getting my Bachelors’ in business management with a focus on entrepreneurial leadership.  My name is Mai Nguyen, daughter of Lap and Huong Nguyen. I’m a senior at Palacios High School. I am involved in WIT, Scrubs Club, and Cosmetology. I also participate in Science and Editorial Writing UIL. My plan after high school is to earn my Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree at UHV.
WIT members toured Wharton County Junior College Allied Health Programs before the Thanksgiving break.
Palacios FFA members participated in a Leadership Development Conference at Kingsville A&M on Dec 2. Students learned about how communication, self image, courage, and personal strengths play a major role in the development of relationships, teams, and organizations.  
My name is Kaleb Mikeska. I am the son of Jason and Nickie Mikeska. I am a senior at Palacios High School. I am involved in WIT, NHS, Computer Science UIL, and Science UIL. After high school, I intend to go to Texas A&M University and major in Business Management. My name is Lena Goff, and I am the daughter of Lisa and Mark Goff. I am the president of the Fellowship of Christian Sharks, a member of Stuco, and I sing in the choir at First Baptist Church of Palacios. After high school, I plan on attending Texas A&M - Corpus Christi and major in Marketing and  minor in communications.
The Palacios High School National Honor Society chapter inducted 19 new members at their annual induction ceremony Monday, October 28. These new members join the current members bringing the chapter’s total membership to 35 outstanding students. Front row, from left are Brianna Gonzalez, Patricia Castanon, Evelyn Aparicio, Anh Dang, Macy Wilson, and Huyen Ha. Second row, from left are Nikki Nguyen, Tony Lam, Vivian Nguyen, Cindy Lopez, Teresita Lopez, Angela Sanchez, Caitlin Rodgers, and Emely Pena. Back row, from left are Casimir Huffman, Jordan Peeples, Mishell Nguyen, and Jennifer Sifuentes. Not pictured Julian Diaz.
Get help with FAFSA completion. Get all of your FAFSA related questions answered. DO NOT MISS THIS OPPORTUNITY! Click on the following links for more information. English or Spanish
PHS is proud to announce the Rotary Students of the Month for October, Griffin White and Lupit Mancera. "My name is Griffin White, son of Robert and Melissa White, and I am a senior at Palacios High School. I am involved with NHS, WIT, UIL Academics, and Chess Club; I also assist the district's Technology Staff. After high school, I plan on attending a state university to receive a specialized Computer Science degree and then enter the workforce as a Network Administrator."  "My name is Lupita Mancera. I am the daughter of Ramiro and Olivia Mancera. I am a current member of National Honor Society, WIT, TAFE, Scrubs Club, and the Cross Country and Track Team. After high school, I plan to attend college to pursue a degree in nursing."  
The Palacios High School Computer Science team won 2nd place team at the State UIL meet on Friday, May 3.  The Computer Science contest challenges students to study a broad range of areas in computer science and has both an individual and a team component. Competition consists of a 45-minute written exam for both components, along with a two-hour programming contest for teams.  Pictured with their medals and plaque are (left to right):  Jackson Engel, Noah Zamarripa, Coach Cindy Hlavaty, Kaleb Mikeska, and Daniel Castanon.
The top 10 students honored a PISD Employee with a Bell.   Daniel Castanon-Stephanie Busby, Justin Vu-James Popham, Noah Zamarripa-Terri Adams, Kayla Vu-Lucy Arnesen, Jackson Engel-Cindy Hlavaty, Katie Nguyen-Ray Hinds, Jordan Nguyen- Heidi Turner, Maria Muniz-Maria Popham, Dorothy Nguyen- Leslie Gerberman, Brooke Vandenbergh- Chris Page, Timothy Kessler- Bill Fort
Griffin White, a junior at Palacios High School, obtained his CompTIA A+ certification.  There are 2 certification tests required for the certification and Griffin passed both of them with flying colors.  One test that is required covers PC hardware and peripherals, mobile device hardware, networking and troubleshooting hardware and networking connectivity issues.  The other required test covers installing and configuring operating systems including Windows, iOS, Android, Apple OS X and Linux.  It also addresses security, the fundamentals of cloud computing and operational procedures.  They also recommend that the test taker have 9-12 months on the job experience. Griffin now holds the CompTIA A+ certification and the CompTIA Network+ certification.  Cindy Hlavaty, Griffin’s teacher, says that this is a huge accomplishment towards his IT career.